Monday, January 13, 2014

Latest edition of "Say Again, Please" released

As published in General Aviation News

Latest edition of ‘Say Again, Please’ released

The fifth edition of “Say Again, Please” has been released.
Talking on an aviation radio and understanding air traffic control instructions can be one of the most intimidating aspects of flight training. In “Say Again, Please” Bob Gardner explains how the ATC system works and teaches readers what to say, what to expect to hear, and how to interpret and react to clearances and instructions.
 This new edition has been updated to reflect current rules and operating procedures, according to the publisher. Chapters cover communication etiquette and rules, understanding radio equipment, emergency situations, and both VFR and IFR communications and clearances.
Also included is a concise summary of the FAA’s communication facilities and their functions, airspace classifications and definitions, and the FAA’s recommended shorthand for copying clearances.
The communication requirements for entering, departing, and transiting each class of airspace is explained in detail by following along with the author on “simulated” flights. A full-color sectional excerpt is provided for the example flights, so readers can review the map while reading the explanation for flying and talking in each area.
Price: $19.95.

No comments: